Staff Directory

Principals

Title

Expertise

William J. Waldorf, SE, RA - Bio
bwaldorf@larsondarby.com
CEO Machine Foundations, Industrial
(all other markets)
Bill Waldorf oversees all structural and MEP engineering processes performed in-house in order to ensure quality, schedule, and budget goals are achieved.  He brings over 30 years of experience to the practice of structural engineering. Bill has worked extensively in the design of over 200 large industrial machine foundations with many requiring an accuracy measured in the thousands of a millimeter with moving loads of several hundred tons.  These foundation designs are often based on software Bill has written which allows the process to be tailored to the requirements of the equipment. Mr. Waldorf’s extensive site supervision of these critical construction processes gives the contractor an added advantage as they plan and build these large concrete structures.
Dan J. Roszkowski, AIA, NCARB - Bio
droszkowski@larsondarby.com
President Higher Ed, Corporate, Industrial, Retail
Dan Roszkowski is the firm's President and Principal with a strong concern for maintaining the highest design standards while lending careful consideration to the following: the building's purpose to function, space needs and efficiency, site requirements, budget, and schedule.  As an architect, Dan has received the AIA/NI 2000 Merit Award for the Rockford YWCA, the AIA/NI 1997 Honor Award for Excellence in Architecture for the DeKalb County Center for Agriculture and Sundstrand Corporate Headquarters.
Richard S. McClelland, AIA, NCARB, HCC, LEED AP BD&C - Bio
rmcclelland@larsondarby.com
VP Operations Principal Architect Healthcare & Senior Living
Rich McClelland, a Principal of the firm, is an architect, planner and manager with extensive experience in architectural, engineering and construction administration issues critical to the healthcare industry. He brings over 30 years of experience to the practice of architecture for congregate care and healthcare facilities. Rich has a vast amount of experience in following the medical building codes, specifically Health Care Facility Life Safety Codes, Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH), and AIA Guidelines for Construction and Equipment in Health Care Facilities. Rich served as an expert participant in a state committee for the improvement of the IDPH requirements and processes.
John T. Saunders, AIA, AFE, NCARB, LEED AP - Bio
jsaunders@larsondarby.com
Principal Corporate, Industrial
John Saunders is an architect and a principal of the firm. He has been practicing architecture for 36 years and has experience in every aspect of the profession i.e. site planning/design, programming, space planning, code research/analysis, project management, contract negotiation, and contract administration. John has served as the Principal-in-Charge for several award winning projects, including Danfoss Drives – an ALA Gold Winner, and Duo-Fast Corporate Headquarters, winner of an AIA/NI Honor Award and an ICARA Honor Award.

Architectural & Interior Design

 

Gedeon L. Trias, AAIABio
gtrias@larsondarby.com
 
Associate Director of Design
Ged is responsible for assisting in the development of design direction for the firm and the implementation of that direction by the design staff. He has been involved in a wide variety of project types serving as project and senior designer on large and small scale commercial, industrial, healthcare, and residential project types. He is a skilled user of Revit, Autocad, 3D Studio Max, and related software packages.  He is directly involved in the generation of computer generated 3D renderings which have been featured in a number of local and regional publications. Ged has won a number of awards including the Kate Neal Kinley Fellowship, and the Long Traveling Fellowship from the University of Illinois. His competition work has been exhibited in Washington D.C., New York, Chicago, and internationally in Australia and Japan.
Sherry Gaumond, IIDA, LEED ID+C AP- Bio
sgaumond@larsondarby.com
Director of Interior Design  
Since 1995, Sherry Gaumond has led Larson & Darby’s interior design group as Director of Interior Design. Ms. Gaumond oversees all aspects of design and construction phases for interiors projects in multiple market sectors, from small to large in size, working closely with each client and the architectural team to develop comprehensive interior design solutions. She believes that a well-designed, environmentally conscious environment will enhance employee productivity, positively impact an organization’s culture and productivity. In addition to programming, design and planning, material selection and specification, Ms. Gaumond provides clients with expertise in furniture design and acquisition, corporate artwork programs, and interior wayfinding solutions. Ms. Gaumond is responsible for creating interior environments that have received several Northern Illinois Chapter of the AIA’s Excellence in Design Awards and LEED building certifications.
Julie A. Williams, IIDA
jwilliams@larsondarby.com
 
Interior Designer

 

Architecture 

Christopher Anderson, LEED AP
canderson@larsondarby.com
 
Architectural Designer

Burt AndrewsBio
bandrews@larsondarby.com

Director Retail, Project Architect/Manager

Timothy Gaumond, RA, HC, LEED AP
tgaumond@larsondarby.com

Director Healthcare, Project Architect/Manager

John Heimbach, AIA
jheimbach@larsondarby.com

Director of Long Term Care

Andrew Macklin, AIA
amacklin@larsondarby.com

Project Architect

Thomas Mahaffey, AIA
tmahaffey@larsondarby.com

Senior Project Manager/Architect

Jeff Morris
jmorris@larsondarby.com

Job Captain/Architectural Draftsman

Steve Nelson
snelson@larsondarby.com

Director of Educational Architecture/Senior Project Manager

John O'Neil, CCA, CCS, CSI, LEED AP
joneil@larsondarby.com

Specifications Writer  

Dirk Schlueter, AIA
dschlueter@larsondarby.com

Project Architect  

Joseph Winklemann, AIA
jwinklemann@larsondarby.com

Project Manager/Architect  
 

 

 

Engineering 

Raed Salem, PE, LEED AP- Bio
rsalem@larsondarby.com
Director, MEP Engineering  
Mr. Salem serves as Director of MEP Engineering for Larson & Darby Group, overseeing all in-house mechanical, electrical, plumbing, and fire protection engineering design.  His responsibilities include all facets of design and production for HVAC, plumbing and fire protection systems. As Director, his involvement on each project encompasses all phases of planning, design, and construction – including quality reviews at each stage.
Tom Wilson, CPD- Bio
twilson@larsondarby.com
Plumbing & Fire Protection Designer  
Tom Wilson has close to 20 years of experience as a plumbing and fire protection designer.  His involvement encompasses all phases of planning, design, and construction of plumbing, fire protection, and process piping systems.  Mr. Wilson authored the Valve chapter of the ASPE (American Society of Plumbing Engineers) Plumbing Engineering Design Handbook entitled, Plumbing Components & Equipment, published in February, 2009.  The handbook is a national reference book for plumbing design professionals.
Dixit (D.J.) Patel, PE- Bio
dpatel@larsondarby.com
Electrical Engineer  
D.J. is an electrical engineer with over 30 years experience. He has extensive experience in providing reliable, cost-effective solutions to a diverse spectrum of clientele. His areas of expertise include complete power distribution , various battery systems, fire alarm & security systems, lighting design for direct and indirect, as well as daylight harvesting and always looking to provide the most current energy conservation solutions.
Michael Dal Pra, SE
mdalpra@larsondarby.com
 
Structural Engineer
Peter Krallitsch
pkrallitsch@larsondarby.com
 
Structural Designer
Pat Moran
pmoran@larsondarby.com
 
Mechanical Engineer

 

Construction Administration & Quality Control 

Mike Dudek, RA, LEED AP BC & C- Bio
mdudek@larsondarby.com
Director of Construction Administration & Sustainability  
Mike Dudek serves as Larson & Darby Group’s Director of Construction Administration & Quality Control. He has an extensive background with 20 years in architectural, construction, and finance experience with a focus on balancing time and money to create maximum value. He has directed over 200 projects to date.  Prior to joining LDG, Mr. Dudek was Director of Construction and both created and managed a new construction department for one of the largest real estate developers in northern Illinois.

 

Technology Design 

Greg Small- Bio
gsmall@larsondarby.com
Director of Technology  
With over 30 years experience in technology consulting, Greg has the unique perspective of having worked both internally and externally with current and emerging technologies. His expertise in electronic technology includes design, engineering, and project management for security, data, voice, video, radio, internet, and wireless technologies.  For over two decades, Greg has been a sought after-speaker to professional groups nationwide.

 

Business Development & Marketing 

Debra Traver
dtraver@larsondarby.com
 
Marketing Manager/ Corporate Office Manager
Mary Beth Peterson-Johnson
mbpeterson@larsondarby.com
 
Marketing Coordinator

 

Administrative 

Susan Hrunek
shrunek@larsondarby.com
 
Administrative Assistant
Sherri Mattis
smattis@larsondarby.com
 
Administrative Assistant